Dance Association for North Carolina Educators

2020 Officers

President: Leah Reynolds, Davie County Schools

President Elect: John Gibson, Buncombe County Schools

Vice President: Dr. Tiffany Fuller, North Carolina A&T University

DANCE Mission

DANCE_logo.gifTo provide leadership, continuing education training and opportunities for education professionals within North Carolina and dance communities.

DANCE Awards

DANCE awards are presented at the NCAAHPERD-SM Convention! Come and join us as we honor our award winners! We are very proud of them, and we know you will be too!

Deadline: The deadline for all NCAAHPERD-SM awards is April 15 of each year.

Please take a minute to think of colleagues, teachers, administrators, college students you feel are deserving of recognition,

DANCE Annually Recognizes:


  1. Provide leadership development opportunities for dance educators to conduct sessions at the NCAAHPERD-SM Convention and other special continuing education programs.
  2. Network and advocate with other arts agencies at the state legislative level to implement strong dance/arts education programs based on the NC Standards for Arts Education and National Standards for Arts Education.
  3. Provide continuing education opportunities via the NCAAHPERD-SM Convention.
  4. Stay current of resources in dance curriculum and program development including professional development, teacher preparation, technology, education, medicine, science, somatics, and performance.
  5. Increase membership and financial resources to enhance strong DANCE programs.
  6. Initiate and model professional practices that promote creative healthy lifestyles through dance curricula, programs, and workshops.
  7. Collaborate with other Alliance structures and external partnerships to promote the mission of the Dance Association for North Carolina Educator