Submissions Page

Ronald W. Hyatt Graduate Student Scholarships

Mar 2, 2018 - Sep 30, 2018

Background: Dr. Ronald W. Hyatt, a professor in the Department of Exercise and Sport Science, served UNC Chapel Hill with distinction for over 40 years. "Doc Hyatt" served two terms as president of NCAAHPERD-SM, and one term as president of the SHAPE Southern District. Nine different organizations presented him with over 25 different honors and awards. He was most proud of the fact that during his career he taught students at all levels from elementary school through the collegiate level.

His honors are numerous and prestigious. They include over the C. Knox Massey Award for Distinguished Service from UNC, the UNC Exercise and Sport Science Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award, and the "Carolina Priceless Gem" award from the UNC Athletic Department, in 2000, 2002, and 2005, respectively. Dr. Hyatt received both the North Carolina AAHPERD and Southern District Honor Awards.

Dr. Hyatt was the 2004 recipient of the highest civilian honor that can be granted in the state of North Carolina, "The Order of the Long Leaf Pine.” Before Ron’s final illness, NCAAHPERD-SM informed him that a Graduate Scholarship was being named in his honor would be awarded at the 2007 convention. Humble as always, he simply responded, "Thank you."

  • The recipient must be a member of NCAAHPERD-SM
  • The applicant must be a graduate student or graduating senior
  • The honoree must be studying one of NCAAHPERD-SM's allied fields
  • The applicant must attend graduate school at a North Carolina college or university
  • The recipient must be present at the awards ceremony to receive this scholarship.


Please fill out the form completely.

When submitting award forms please:

Members: Login to your account. Once you login on each of award page, click "New Submission."

Non-Members- click at the bottom "register", it is free to register as a guest.

Award Deadline: June 10th is the deadline for all awards. Applications submitted after the June 10th deadline will be considered for the following year.